Arklow and Wicklow to benefit from new Broadband project

Arklow Town and Wicklow Town will be two of the 50 towns nationwide that will benefit from phase one of a new high speed broad band scheme.

Vodafone and ESB have combined to offer the service which will see speeds of between 200 Mbps to 1000 Mbps being offered under a project that will coast an estimated €450m.

According to the firms Ireland will become the first country in Europe to use existing electricity infrastructure to deploy fibre directly into homes and businesses.

Under phase one of the project, it is estimated that 500,000 will be reached by the end of 2018.

Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Pat Rabbitte, has described the project as one of the most significant developments in the state since the introduction of electricity.

Below in the full list of towns that will benefit from phase one of the project:

Arklow, Wicklow

Athlone, Westmeath

Balbriggan, Dublin

Ballina, Mayo

Ballincollig, Cork

Bray, Wicklow

Carlow, Carlow

Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim

Carrigaline, Cork

Castlebar, Mayo

Cavan, Cavan

Celbridge, Kildare

Clonmel, Tipperary

Cobh, Cork

Cork City

Drogheda, Louth

Dundalk, Louth

Ennis, Clare

Enniscorthy, Wexford

Galway City

Gorey, Wexford

Greystones, Wicklow

Kilkenny, Kilkenny

Killarney, Kerry

Leixlip, Kildare

Letterkenny, Donegal

Limerick City

Little Island, East Cork

Longford, Longford

Mallow, Cork

Maynooth/Kilcock, Kildare

Midleton, Cork

Monaghan, Monaghan

Mullingar, Westmeath

Naas/Johnstown/Sallins, Kildare

Navan, Meath

Newbridge, Kildare

Portlaoise, Laois

Roscommon, Roscommon

Shannon, Clare

Skerries / Rush, Dublin

Sligo, Sligo

Swords /Malahide/Portmarnock, Dublin

Tralee, Kerry

Tramore, Waterford

Tullamore, Offaly

Waterford City

Westport, Mayo

Wexford, Wexford

Wicklow, Wicklow.

Please contact us for use of this image