Wicklow film industry boosted by County Council initiative

Vibeke Delahunt, Wicklow Film Commissioner, Cllr John Ryan, Cathaoirleach, Wicklow County Council; Christine Flood, Senior Executive Officer, Enterprise Department, Wicklow County Council; Cllr Pat Casey, Chair of the Council’s Economic Development Strategic Committee and Bryan Doyle, Chief Executive, Wicklow County Council.

Wicklow’s position as the “Hollywood of Ireland” has been given a major boost by the decision of Wicklow County Council to allow for a 100 per cent reduction in development contributions for film studio infrastructure.

The move will encourage the further development of  film-making facilities in County Wicklow.

Councillors, who approved the initiative also agreed to make a case to central government for the raising of the cap on the section 481 tax credit scheme and are seeking an extension of the scheme to 2025, to encourage the development of much needed infrastructure for the film industry.



Please contact us for use of this image