Wicklow Garda Youth Awards-Eireann O’Sullivan


Eireann O'Sullivan from Arklow recieves her youth award from Superintendant Paul Hogan at the 2nd Annual Wicklow Garda Youth Awards which was held in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow Town.
Eireann O’Sullivan from Arklow receives her youth award from Superintendent Paul Hogan at the 2nd Annual Wicklow Garda Youth Awards which was held in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow Town.

The 2nd Wicklow Garda Youth Awards took place on Saturday the 4th of February in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow town.

The awards were sponsored by the County Wicklow Partnership and were hosted by Today FM DJ Philip Cawley.

For the next 16 days Wicklownews.net will post a picture and bio of one of the winning recipients, today we have Eireann O’Sullivan from Arklow.

Eireann was nominated by Arklow Community Action Resource Centre.  Eireann came to the centre in 2015 to volunteer as part of her Gaisce Awards and has been helping out every Tuesday and Thursday evening since.

Eireann is described as a genuine, caring, understanding young lady with a heart of gold.

Eireann’s work involves designing posters and flyers for the continuous work at the resource centre.  Eireann also assists with projects involving struggling families and homeless people.

She sorts clothes into order and unloads food crates which helps support 150 plus families each week.  Eireann is invaluable to the resource centre and gives her time every night without expecting anything in return.

Eireann plays a vital role in the running of the two annual community dinners at Christmas and Easter.  Dinner is provided free of charge to approx. 250 people in the community and Eireann helps with the set up, serving, clean up and literally any other job that comes her way.

Eireann consistently demonstrates empathy and compassion for those less fortunate and her heart of gold is evident to all who know her.

Full list of award winners

Special achievement category, Michael O’Brien, Martina Conyard, Rachel Casey, Lee Timmons, Timothy and Christopher Hopkins.

Individual category, Jeremy O’Donovan, Shannon Franey, Eireann O’Sullivan, Luke Power, Chloe Gilmore, Joe Dempsey,  Sinead Roche and Molly Comish.

Group category, Glenealy Foroige Youth Club, Greystones Community Summer Project, Seomra Youth Centre in Bray, Newtownmountkennedy Senior Youth Group, Arklow Sea Venture Scout Unit and Marc Brady and Rachel Crimes from Colaiste Chraobh Abhainn in Kilcoole.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories

Hold on a second! Hear us out...

What if we delivered the news to you?

Sign up for our weekly WicklowNews.Net Newsletter below. It only takes 3 seconds.