Election update after first count

By: William O’Toole

With the count in full swing this morning there has been no change since last night with eleven Councillors elected across the county.

In Arklow it was a dominant performance from Fianna Fail, with Pat Fitzgerald and Pat Kennedy both elected on the first count. Fitzgerald topped the poll with 1937 first preference votes.

It looks like they will also return Tommy Annesley. Fine Gaels Sylvester Bourke and Sinn Feins Mary Mc Donnald both look likely to take a seat but it will be a scrap for the sixth and final seat.

In Wicklow the only person to be elected on the first count was poll-topper John Snell who got 1577 first preference votes.

Daire Nolan, Pat Casey and Shay Cullen will get a seat but it looks very tight for the last two seats.

In Baltinglass Tommy Cullen, Jim Ruttle and Gerry O’Neill were all returned. It looks likely that the final three seats will go to Edward Timmins, Vincent Blake and Pat Doran.

In Bray John Brady, Christopher Fox and Joe Behan were all elected on the first count. However, it looks to be a real scrap for the final seats.

Finally, in Greystones Jennifer Whitmore and Tom Fortune were elected. It was an incredible showing from  Whitmore, who secured 2328 first performance votes.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

WicklowNews.Net Competitions

Powered by

Ready Set Play

Competition Ends

Competition is now closed
Related Stories
© Copyright 2022 WicklowNews.net

Do you have a story for us? Contact us by email