GAA Legend Peter to launch All Ireland Kick Fada 2014

Kick fada 2014 1

Legendary GAA figure Peter Keogh will launch the 15th annual All Ireland Kick Fada competition in  Bray Emmet’s on Saturday next (Sept 13) at 1.0.

The Wicklow GAA President has been a great supporter of the event – the Association’s only  annual All Ireland  final in the county – and was unanimously  voted by Bray Emmets to become the Kick Fada’s Grand Marshall for the day.

He will be in good company as  GAA President Liam O’Neill will also be present to present the keynote address to the  attendance Other prominent GAA people attending include Wicklow Chairman, Martin Coleman and former Dublin captain, Seán Doherty, who was recently inducted into the Kick Fada Hall of Fame.

Seán, a native of Glenealy, will  attend alongside a number of other former Hall of Fame winners.

The All Ireland  Kick Fada saw  last year’s winners Damien Sheridan (Longford)  produce a new record kick of 75 metres – a massive kick which beat the previous record held by Kildare’s Marc Herbert by three metres.

On Saturday week, Damien will attempt to complete a hat-trick of successes and on the women’s side Dublin’s Serena Hannon will also try to create her own piece of history by completing a three-in-a-row in the women’s competition.

“We certainly had  kicking of the highest quality in the men’s and women’s sections last year and I’m looking forward to another day of great competitive fare,” declared Bray Emmet’s chairman, Dermot O’Brien this week.

Bray have lined up a top class field of  performers for the occasion  which is ideal for family attendance where children can gets autographs from the stars on show after the event is finished.

The winners will receive Celtic Cross gold medals.

The following is a list of  players expected to take part in the gala event in the Old Conna venue on Saturday.





Damien Sheridan (Longford) HOLDER

Tony Hannon (Wicklow)

Ross Munnelly (Laois)

Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Conor McGraynor (Wicklow)

Mark Herbert (Kildare)

Shane Duffy (Monaghan)

Paul Hearty (Armagh)

John O’Toole (Wicklow) xx

Paul O’Keeffe (Wicklow)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Rob Hennelly (Mayo)

Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Donie Shine (Roscommon)

John Heslin (Westmeath)

Paddy O’Rourke (Meath)

Joe Sheridan (Meath)

Brian Sheridan (Meath)

Ben Brosnan (Wexford)

Dick Clerkin (Monaghan)

Niall Gaffney (Wicklow)

Shane Walsh (Galway)

Sean Connolly (Louth)


Serena Hannon (Dublin) HOLDER

Kim Flood (Dublin)

Mary Sheridan (Meath)

Grainne Nulty (Meath)

Geraldine Norton (Wicklow)

Emer Miley (Wicklow)

Irene Munnelly (Meath)



If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories

Hold on a second! Hear us out...

What if we delivered the news to you?

Sign up for our weekly WicklowNews.Net Newsletter below. It only takes 3 seconds.