St Patrick’s club notes October 3rd

All roads lead to Aughrim  for the Renault Senior Football Championship Final on Sunday 9th October at 3.15pmm when our Senior footballers take on Baltinglass in a repeat of the 2012 decider. Best wishes to Robert, and the backroom team of Gary, Alan, Liam, Lee, Ritchie and Des with Captain Padge McWalter and the rest of the players Ian Murphy, Padraig Higgins, Emmet Cullen, Ciaran  Doyle, Wayne Doyle, Niall Donnelly, Dean  Healy, Johnny Delahunt, Conor Ffrench, Brian Doyle, John Crowe, Brian Coen, Tommy Kelly, Eamonn Wolfe, Ruairi Marron, Stephen Duffy, Ritchie Murphy, Ciaran McGettigan, Shane Doyle, Colin Byrne, Colin O’Toole, Jack Kelly, Hugh Humby, Donie Fitzgerald, Davy Byrne and Conor O’Brien in their quest to bring Miley home!


Congratulations to our Senior Ladies who ran up an excellent score of 6-19 away to Blessington in the league on Sunday evening. They now take on Tinahely in the League final.

Team: Jennifer Lyons, Natasha Fitzgerald, Sorcha Doyle, Saoirse O’Reilly, Sarah Delahunt, Sinead McGettigan, Rioghna McGettigan, Niamh McGettigan, Rose Fagan, Laura Leonard, Laura Manley, Aisling Hayden, Medh O’Keane, Emer McNulty, Aine Cahill, Clodagh Fox, Niamh O’Brien, Laoise Marron, Rebecca Hollingsworth, Saoirse O’Reilly, Erynn O’Brien


Our Senior Hurlers took on reigning Champions Bray Emmets in the Dacia Senior Hurling Championship Semi Final in Aughrim last Sunday. Superb hurling by the lads in the first half with a goal by Stephen Morris saw the lads ahead 1-08 to 0-10 at Half-time. Although Andy O’Brien scored a goal to keep us in touching distance it was not enough as Bray closed out the game with the full time score of 2-20 to 2-12. Team: Eoghan O’Mahony, Andy O’Brien, John Connors, Thomas Keogh, Michael Connors, Gerry Connors, Eddie Kelly, George (Bee) O’Brien, Terry Healy, Stephen Morris, John (Bonner) O’Brien, John (Dee) O’Brien, Andy O’Brien, Christy Moorehouse, Michael O’Brien, George O’Connor, Jim O’Brien, Andrew Conway, John O’Brien, Paul Murphy, Ricky Quinn, John O’Neill, Christy Moorehouse, Denis O’Brien, Chris Kavanagh, Mick O’Brien


Hard luck to our Junior A Footballers took on Division 2 side Ashford in the championship semi-final in Rathnew on Sunday. The conditions were the complete opposite to the drawn game with the sun shining, it was a game of two halves with St Pats dominating the first half with the halftime score of 5 points to 2 in favour of St Pats. Ashford came back strong in the second half to win 9 points to 6.

Team: Davy Byrne, Ronan Connolly, Lorcan Smullen, Barry Fitzgerald, Aidan Dunne, Bosco Guinan, Hugh Humby, Joe Quinn, Tommy Dunne, Simon Bouchier, Adam Cox (0-03), Jordan Pettigrew (0-02), Shaun Vickers, Jack Kelly (0-01), Conor O’Brien, Shane O’Dwyer  Subs used: Paul O’Brien, Johnny Carton and Shane O’Dwyer


St Pat’s have won the U16 A Hurling Shield Final against North District on a score line of 5-12 to 2-06. Captain Patrick Murphy just about beat out Paddy Moorehouse for the Man of the Match award with an excellent display from midfield. Team: Sean Keogh, Kyle Murphy, John O’Brien, Eamonn Kehoe, Luke Synnott, Daniel O’Brien, Patrick Murphy, TJ Kehoe, Robert Moffatt, Paddy Moorehouse, Luke Robinson, Mick Moorehouse, Rom O’Brien, Jim O’Brien, Aaron Murphy, Adam Synnott, Mikey Griffin, Christy Moorehouse, Bill O’Brien, Conor O’Mahony, Nathan Goucher. Congratulations to all involved.


Well done to St Patricks Under 8s who took part in Go Games Monster Blitz in Ballinakill on Saturday.


Well done to the St. Pats u10 Football team in 2016. A special thanks to the Senior players Eamon Wolfe, Johnny Delahunt and Conor O’Brien(also u10 coach) for presenting the new tops to the players. This team took place and achieve success in All Ireland, Leinster and County tournaments this year. Thanks to the coaching team for their commitment and hard work. The future is bright for the group of talented footballers.


Many thanks to all who were on duty collecting for our annual flag day in aid of our juvenile boys and girls, and to the community for their support.


Congratulations to Shane Fagan, the winner in the St Patrick’s Club All Ireland Ticket Members draw. Thank you to all the members who entered the draw.


Upcoming fixtures:

05 OCT 2016 U14 Football A Championship : Round 5

St Patrick’s -vs- Eiré Óg Greystones

Renault Senior Football Championship Final 09.10.16 (Sun) Time: 3 15 PM , Venue: Aughrim


Please support your Town, Your Team, Your Club!


Congratulations to our main man Louis Carroll who celebrated his 90th birthday recently.


Congratulations to Mark Murphy and Aileen Fallon on their engagement over the week end.


Our sincere condolences to the family of Seamus (Shay) Dunne (former Captain of Ireland and Luton Town Football Club) Greystones, Co. Wicklow and late of Wicklow Town who passed away on September 28th 2016. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

Our sincere condolences to the family of Margaret Byrne (née Carty) Scarnagh, Inch, Gorey, Wexford / Wicklow and formerly of Market Square, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford who passed away on the 28th September 2016 at the Beacon Hospital, Dublin. Beloved wife of Tom and loving mother of Philip, Kevin, Brendan and Thomas Jnr. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam dílis


We had no jackpot winners in our Club Lotto this week! Numbers drawn were 2, 5, 7 and 25. The bonus number was 3. We had one Match three winner Jackie Ronan.
Thanks to the weekly Club Lotto Sellers who give up their time to help raise funds for the Club. It’s greatly appreciated. Make sure you buy a ticket each week and you could be the winner of our Match 4 prize €1,600 or Match 5 €10,000 jackpot!


Please send any information for club notes to before 9pm on Sunday evenings. You can contact St Pats at Facebook St Patrick’s GAA Club Wicklow Town or Twitter @StPatsGAAWick.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories