Wicklow Garda Youth Awards-Glenealy Foroige Youth Club

Members of the Glenealy Foroige group recieve their youth award from Superintendant Paul Hogan and Chief Superintendent John Quirke at the 2nd Annual Wicklow Garda Youth Awards which was held in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow Town.
Members of the Glenealy Foroige group receive their youth award from Superintendent Paul Hogan and Chief Superintendent John Quirke at the 2nd Annual Wicklow Garda Youth Awards which was held in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow Town.

The 2nd Wicklow Garda Youth Awards took place on Saturday the 4th of February in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow town.

The awards were sponsored by the County Wicklow Partnership and were hosted by Today FM DJ Philip Cawley.

For the next 10 days Wicklownews.net will post a picture and bio of one of the winning recipients, today we have the Glenealy Foroige Youth Club.

The Youth Club meets every Friday in the Glenealy community hall and consists of boys and girls from 12 years of age.  This group was nominated for an award by Cclr John Snell and the Glenealy Tidy Towns Committee.

Early last year the Foroige group in Glenealy undertook to do a regular litter pick and general tidy in their community.  The core group started doing this once a month and consisted of approximately 13 teenagers.  Today the group has grown in numbers and the Friday evening clean ups take place every two weeks in all weathers.  These young people have displayed a fantastic example to all in their village and their work is extremely appreciated.  To witness the young teenagers in their high vis vests, gloves and lamps searching out rubbish & litter on dark winter evenings is inspiring for all the citizens in the community.  These young people have shown everyone of all ages the value of taking pride in their community and that a bit of hard work goes a long way.

Members include  Charlie Cruise, Holly Veale, Sam Veale, Jenna Smyth, Jack Byrne, John McElhinney, Jack Hick, Cian O’Neill, Dean Myler, TJ O’Neill, Cormac Byrne, James Ffrench and James Henkel.

Full list of award winners

Special achievement category, Michael O’Brien, Martina Conyard, Rachel Casey, Lee Timmons, Timothy and Christopher Hopkins.

Individual category, Jeremy O’Donovan, Shannon Franey, Eireann O’Sullivan, Luke Power, Chloe Gilmore, Joe Dempsey,  Sinead Roche and Molly Comish.

Group category, Glenealy Foroige Youth Club, Greystones Community Summer Project, Seomra Youth Centre in Bray, Newtownmountkennedy Senior Youth Group, Arklow Sea Venture Scout Unit and Marc Brady and Rachel Crimes from Colaiste Chraobh Abhainn in Kilcoole.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories

Hold on a second! Hear us out...

What if we delivered the news to you?

Sign up for our weekly WicklowNews.Net Newsletter below. It only takes 3 seconds.