Bray Emmets club notes week July 24th


Follow us on Facebook: Bray Emmets GAA club and Twitter: @brayemmets



Lotto: The numbers drawn were: 24,25,28,5

The next jackpot will be: €20,000

Congratulations to Tom Kearney who wins €25 in the Lucky Dip.

Please sign up here, it’s a fantastic way of supporting the club and winning some cash.



Senior Hurling Championship Round  5

Bray Emmets vs Avondale.

The fixture with Avondale was never going to be one that would cause us a lot of concern as Avondale are far from the force they were back in the day, not winning any of their games so far in this year championship. None the less it had to be played and won and try not to get any injuries or sending’s off in the process.

We started well and appeared to be well up for it, points from Padge, Diarmuid, Ciano, Mikey and Marc Lennon put us in a very strong position and after twenty minutes one could see we were never going to be under any pressure to claim the points in this one.  A goal from Lennon and a few good saves by Tom Finn in the Avondale goal were the only few moments that brought a cheer in Greystones on a wet miserable Sunday morning, 1.11 to 1 at the break tells the story.

The second half did brighten up a bit, both weather and the hurling, Diarmuid and Mikey were firing over some lovely scores from long range and all five subs were used, Tom Cash replaced Ben, Karl for Conor Doherty and Liam Benville for Eoin McCormack, and a little later in the half Conor McNally came on for Lennon.

Lukie O’Reilly then replaced Conor McNally,  who was injured , and  two of  the Dales men were sent off. Thankfully our boys kept their discipline and we managed to keep all our players on the field. The final whistle was very welcome.

The final score 1.23 to 7 points, the next game is against  St Pats on the 20th August, a win here would see us into the semi-final. Many thanks to all the helpers, especially Cameron and Ronan O’Brien for their decisive action dealing with the injury.

Team: Peter O’Reilly, Sean Moloney, Peter Kieley, Conor Doherty, Darragh Henderson, Luke Moloney, Darragh Moloney, Enda Forde, Diarmuid Masterson(8), Eoin McCormack, Padraig Doyle(3), Marc Lennon(1.1), Ben McCormack, Mikey Lee(7), Cian O’Byrne(2) Tom Cash(2) Karl Lacey, Liam Benville, Conor McNally, Luke O’Reilly, Ronan O’Brien and William Robinson.


If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories