St. Patrick’s club notes week December 11th


Congratulations to Casey and all involved with the Senior Footballers who made the short journey to Merrymeeting to take on near neighbours Rathnew in the Dunne Cup semi-final last Tuesday.

On a wintry evening under lights, St. Pats started brightly with scores from Tommy Kelly and Jordan Petticrew. With both sides missing scoring opportunities,  Rathnew playing against the wind found the net to go in at half-time: St. Pats 0-03 Rathnew 1-01. St Pats began the second half with a strong performance from Stephen Duffy who kicked some excellent scores against the wind. At full time the sides could not be separated St. Pats 0-09 Rathnew 1-06. After some confusion it was agreed to play extra time. St Pats played against the wind in the first half of extra time, with two scores from Stephen Duffy St Pats were in front 2 points to 1.

The second half of extra time St Pats played some nice football with Stephen Duffy finding Shane Murley in space who scored two points with Stephen Duffy adding two more. A good all round performance with excellent work rate throughout saw the lads emerge deserving winners on a full time score after extra time: St. Patricks 0-16 Rathnew 1-09. St. Patricks will now meet Blessington in the Final of the Dunne Cup, date, time and venue to be confirmed by the county Board. Keep an eye on the fixtures.

Team: Colm Byrne, Wayne Doyle, Niall Donnelly, Padraig Higgins, Padge McWalter, Conor Ffrench, John Crowe(0-01), Dean Healy, Shane Doyle, Shane Murley(0-02), Brian Doyle, Johnny Delahunt, Stephen Duffy(0-09), Jordan Petticrew(0-02), Tommy Kelly(0-02) 
SUBS: Simon Bouchier, Aidan Dunne, Hugh Humby, Conor O’Brien, Lorcan Smullen and Ian Murphy


The club AGM took place on Thursday 30th November at 8pm in the Clubhouse. Chairperson John Gill welcomed the members to the meeting. Michael Murphy gave the secretaries report outlining the highs and lows of the year. James Phelan gave a detailed treasurer’s report specifically regarding the recent land purchase and outlining the budgets for years ahead. The AGM agreed a membership increase for 2018 in line with the Treasurers budget. The elected officers on the night were:

Honorary Presidents: Brian Finnegan, Michael Hagan, Shem Furlong, Marguerite Fitzpatrick and Gerry Farrell.
Honorary Vice Presidents: Carmel Earls and Concepta Connolly.Chairman: John Gill, Secretary: Michael Murphy, Treasurer: James Phelan, Adult Football: Gary Duffy, Adult Hurling: Paul O’Brien, Juvenile: Alan Lawlor, Children’s Officer: Carmel Earls, Health & Wellbeing Officer: Dr. Tom Finnegan, Development Officer: Donal Marron, Fundraising Officer: Eugene Dooley, Irish Officer: Niall Hanton.

John Gill closed the meeting by wishing the members a Happy Christmas and s Peaceful and Prosperous New Year, See you all at the Club Christmas Celebration in the Clubhouse on Saturday 16th December at 8pm.

St. Patrick’s GAA Club needs volunteers. 
Due to the retirement of John Smith and Patrice Evans from their roles in club communication we are looking for the right candidates to take over, ideally you require knowledge of social media. Training can be provided if you can spare a few hours a week and have an interest in St Patrick’s GAA?
As Eddie Leonard retired from his position of Club Registrar, anyone who is interested in the vacant positions within St Patrick’s GAA Club please contact Club Secretary Michael Murphy –

Date for your Diary:

Wicklow G.A.A. County Convention in Áras Péader Mac Eochaidh, Ballinakill on Monday 11th December 2017

St. Patricks GAA Club Christmas Celebration Saturday 16th December 2017 at 8pm in the Clubhouse. All Welcome.

St Patrick’s GAA Club Draw 2017: The third and final draw will take place in the Clubhouse on Saturday 16th December in the Clubhouse during the Club Christmas function.
The St Patricks GAA Development 2nd Draw Winners:

Eddie & Veronica Leonard €1000, John Slattery Snr €700, Pat Casey €400, Niall Hanton €200, Wicklow Bowls €100, Sandra & Cyril Evans €50, Evelyn Phillips €50

The St Patricks GAA Development 1st Draw Winners.

Tomas Morrissey €1,000, Paddy Heffernan €700, Derek Dunne €400, Dennis O’Mahony €200,
Fiona/Donal Mitchel €100, Brian Murray €50, Carmel Tiernan €50

This year the club is running a draw to support the fundraising drive required to develop a new pitch at our new Greenhill Road field. Tickets are €50 each and there will be a monthly draw at the end of October, November and early December.

All funds from this draw will go to the new pitch and we will use this as the main fundraising event this year for the new development, so it is vital for the success of this project that you give as much support as you can.

St Patrick’s GAA Club Lotto results Monday 4th December 2017
We had no Winners for our Match 5 or Match 4 Jackpots. We had two Match 3 winners: Willie Fahy c/o Willie Fahy and Rocky Newsome
Don’t forget to buy your ticket this week. If you are not in you cannot win!
Winning numbers: 05, 16, 22 and 30. The bonus number was 04.

Thanks to the weekly Club Lotto Sellers who give up their time to help raise funds for the Club. It’s greatly appreciated. The next draw is on Monday 11th December in the Clubhouse. Make sure you buy a ticket each week and you could be the winner of our Match 4 prize €3,900 or Match 5 €10,000 jackpot!

As part of club development and potential additional playing facilities, we are requesting that each age group team support the lotto selling rota by providing a team of 4 on their designated Saturday. Are any of you available to sell in the pubson Saturday nights from 9pm? Contact your team manager for details.

Please send any information for club notes to before 9pm on Sunday evenings. You can contact St Pats at Facebook St Patrick’s GAA Club Wicklow Town or Twitter @StPatsGAAWick

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories