Wicklow make one change for football league clash against London

John Evans has made just one change to the Wicklow starting lineup for their trip to London in the second round of the Allianz Football League this weekend.

The only alteration to the starting 15 is Padraig O’Toole, who comes in for James Stafford. The Rathnew legend had replaced O’Toole in the team 15 minutes before their 0-12 to 0-12 draw with Waterford last Sunday.

Seanie Furlong and Gearóid Murphy scored nine of Wicklow’s 12 points between them last weekend, and they both retain their spots in the full-forward line. They are joined by Daniel Keane who has shaken off the injury that forced him off in Aughrim

Theo Smyth and Darren Hayden join Padraig O’Toole in the half-forward line, while Rory Finn and Kevin Murphy start again in midfield.

Dean Healy starts at centre half-back and is flanked by Conor Healy and Pat Burke at left and right half-back respectively.

Ciaran Hyland, Jamie Snell and Paul Merrigan round out the defence while Robert Lambert remains in goal.

The only other change to the 26-man squad comes with Bray Emmets’ Cathal McGee making the bench in place of Baltinglass’ Dan Kelly.

Wicklow – Robert Lambert (Aughrim); Ciaran Hyland (AGB), Jamie Snell (Rathnew), Paul Merrigan (Rathnew); Pat Burke (Baltinglass), Dean Healy (St. Pat’s), Conor Healy (Donard The Glen); Rory Finn (Kiltegan), Kevin Murphy (Baltinglass); Padraig O’ Toole (Kiltegan), Theo Smyth (Rathnew), Darren Hayden (Éire Óg); Gearóid Murphy (Annacurra), Seanie Furlong (Kiltegan)(c), Daniel Keane (Éire Óg).

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories