Wicklow name unchanged team for hurling league encounter against Down

Seamus Murphy has named an unchanged lineup for Wicklow’s trip to Down in the second round of the Allianz Hurling League on Sunday.

Wicklow will be searching for their second consecutive victory and have opted for the same 15 men who beat Armagh 4-20 to 1-12 last weekend in the opening Division 2B fixture.

Robert Fitzgerald keeps his place in goal. Meanwhile Emmet Byrne, Billy Cuddihy and Martin O’Brien start in the full-back line, and Garry Byrne, John Henderson and captain Warren Kavangh retain their places at half-back.

John Connors and Stephen Kelly start in midfield, while Eoin McCormack and Padraig Doyle line up alongside Anto Byrne in the half-forward line after the latter scored 2-3 last weekend.

In the full-forward line, George O’Brien and Seanie Germaine play either side of Andy O’Brien – the star of the show last weekend with a personal tally of 2-7.

Robert Fitzgerald (Annacurra); Martin O’Brien (Annacurra), Billy Cuddihy (Éire Óg), Emmet Byrne (Glenealy); Garry Byrne (Glenealy), John Henderson (Bray Emmets), Warren Kavanagh (Glenealy); John Connors (St. Pat’s), Stephen Kelly (Éire Óg); Eoin McCormack (Bray Emmets), Anto Byrne (Éire Óg), Padraig Doyle (Bray Emmets); Seanie Germaine (Kiltegan), Andy O’Brien (St. Pat’s), George O’Brien (St. Pat’s)

Sign up to our weekly newsletter

Please contact us for use of this image