Wicklow primary schools win awards from Science Foundation Ireland

20 Wicklow primary schools have won Science Foundation Ireland Discover Science and Maths Awards.

The schools were recognised for their achievements in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) over the 2017/18 school year.

To qualify for the awards, schools are required to keep a log of STEM activities that they have undertaken in the classroom throughout the academic year.


Wicklow TD Minister Andrew Doyle said he was delighted to hear so many Wicklow schools received the award, recognising their achievements in science, technology, engineering and maths.

“The schools were recognised for this award by carrying out experiments, going on STEM-related field trips, using digital technology and maths as part of their science work, hosting scientist and engineer speaker visits and holding a science open day in the school,” Minister Doyle said.

“Education is key to our ambitions as a nation. It helps us to grow a strong economy and gives everyone the opportunity to fulfil their full potential. This government has set the ambition to make Ireland’s education and training service the best in Europe by 2026,” the Minister added.

Commenting on the awards, Minister for Business, Enterprise, and Innovation Heather Humphreys said: “I would like to congratulate all students and their teachers on their fantastic achievements to date.

“The SFI Discover Science and Maths Awards provide students with the skills necessary to learn more about STEM and inspire them to become the next generation of business leaders, creative thinkers and problem solvers.

“People working in science, technology and engineering in Ireland are leading the way in these growing sectors and it’s crucial to ensure uptake of STEM subjects at an early age.”

The following Wicklow schools were recognised for an award:

  • Moneystown NS, St Catherines Special National School
  • St Mary’s Junior NS Blessington
  • Kilcoole Primary School
  • Greystones CNS
  • Scoil Chaoimhín Naofa Glendalough
  • Greystones Educate Together
  • St Fergal’s NS Bray
  • Scoil San Eoin Redcross
  • St. Kevin’s NS Greystones
  • Sacred Heart NS Aughrim
  • Gaelscoil Chill Mhantain
  • St Peter’s Primary School Bray
  • St. Laurences NS Roundwood
  • Powerscourt NS
  • St Patrick’s NS Greystones
  • St. Laurence’s NS Greystones
  • St Johns SNS Arklow
  • Scoil Aodán Naofa Carnew
  • Blessington No 1 School.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories