Wicklow take Progress to Success Camogie title

Wicklow deservedly won the Under 16 Progress to Success after a terrific game of camogie  against a very spirited Donegal side in Abbottstowns last Saturday.

Donegal opened the scoring within the first five minutes from a close-range free. It took the Wicklow girls a while to settle, but once Katie Tyrrell scored Wickow’s first point, it was game on. Wicklow soon got into their stride with points coming from the impressive Katie Tyrrell  Sive Byrne, Kasey Byrne and Amber House.
Then just at the brink of half time, Kasey Byrne kicked home a goal to leave Wicklow ahead 1-09 to 0-01 at the break.
Donegal again stared strong, nailing home two more points early in the second half. But between Sive Bryne and Emma Murphy, Wicklow took control of the centre once again.
The forwards began to work with Daisie Summer Cullen Dunne bagging two goals in quick succession. More scores followed, and substitute Alice Mulhall banged home two more goals and it was game over for Donegal.
The strong Donegal side never gave up, scoring another point, but the Wicklow girls were on top form and nothing was going to stop them. Wicklow won on a scoreline of 6-12 to 0-04.
Captain Jenny Tyrrell accepted the trophy on behalf of her team.
This group of girls also won the Leinster title in Portlaoise, which makes 2018 a very successful year for the Under 16 county players and their mentors Noeleen Whelan, Matt Byrne and Breda Donnelly.
Scorers on the day:
 Daise Summer Cullen Dunne 3-00,
 Alice Mulhall 2-00
 Kasey Byrne 1-01
 Katie Tyrrell 0-06
 Jessica Mai Maxwell 0-02
 Sive Byrne 0-01
 Lauren O’Reilly 0-01
 Amber House 0-01.
1. Caitlin Hughes (Carnew)
2. Maire Deegan (Carnew)
3. Jenny Tyrrell (C) (Donard-Glen)
4. Ava Whelan (Aughrim)
5. Erin Byrne (Knockananna)
6. Emma Murphy (Aughrim)
7. Emer O’Toole (Aughrim)
8. Sive Byrne (Donard-Glen)
9. Emma Byrne (Avondale)
10. Jessica Mai Maxwell (Eire Og Greystones)
11. Kasey Byrne (Aughrim)
12. Katie Tyrrell (Donard-Glen)
13. Daisie Summer Cullen Dunne (Donard-Glen)
14. Lauren O’Reilly (Avondale)
15. Amber House (Kiltegan)
16. Orlagh Waters (Donard-Glen)
17. Niamh Byrne (Knockananna)
18. Alice Mulhall (Knockananna)
19. Roisin Murphy (Bray Emmets)
20. Molly Walker (Kilcoole)
21. Lucy Rooney (Kilcoole)
22. Moya Cremin (Kiltegan)
23. Emma Doyle (Bray Emmets)
24. Isabel Keenaghan (Donard-Glen)
25. Emma Hayden (Donard-Glen)
26. Doireann O’Brien (Aughrim)
27. Erin O’Toole (Aughrim)
28. Niamh Darker (Donard-Glen)
29. Emma Shannon (Aughrim)
30. Ciara Boland ( Kiltegan)
31. Ciara Clancy (Avondale)
32. Eimer Mutton (Knockananna)
33. Orlaith Molloy (Carnew)
34. Jessica Kinsella (Carnew)
35. Claudia Turner (Avondale)
36. Saoirse Canavan (Bray Emmets)
37. Louise Simpson (Ballinacor)
38. Maria Rafferty (Kiltegan)
39. Casey Kelly (Donard-Glen)

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories