Wicklow duo named in Christy Ring team of the year

Wicklow hurlers Warren Kavanagh and John Henderson have been named in the 2018 Christy Ring Cup Champion 15.

Seamus Murphy — who stepped down from his position as Wicklow senior hurling manager in September — guided his side to the semi-final of this season’s Christy Ring Cup before they were beaten by London.

The Champion 15 for the Christy Ring Cup was announced today, with champions Kildare predictably dominating with four inclusions.

The additions of Warren Kavanagh and John Henderson in the team maintains Wicklow’s presence in every Christy Ring Champion 15 since the inception of the competition in 2005.

2018 is the first-time that Kavanagh and Henderson have been included in the Champion 15. Andy O’Brien has made the team more often than any other Wicklow player with four inclusions, while Eamonn Kearns has made the team three times.

Christy Ring Cup Champion 15: P. McKenna (Kildare); E. O’Neill (Kildare), M. Moloney (Kildare), J. Sheridan (Kildare); B. Regan (London), D. O’Regan (London), A. Sheehan (London); J. Henderson (Wicklow), W. Kavanagh (Wicklow); C. Waldron (Derry), C. O’Doherty (Derry), D. Sands (Down); S. Renaghan (Armagh), N. Connaughton (Roscommon), D. Kenny (Mayo).

Every Wicklow representative in Christy Ring Cup Champion 15 (2005 – 2018):

  • Joe Murphy (2005, 2006)
  • Don Hyland (2007)
  • Jonathan O’Neill (2008, 2010)
  • Jeffrey Bermingham (2009)
  • Andy O’Brien (2010, 2011, 2012, 2017)
  • Stephen Kelly (2011, 2014)
  • Eamonn Kearns (2011, 2012, 2017)
  • Ronan Keddy (2012)
  • Liam Kennedy (2013)
  • Billy Cuddihy (2015)
  • Luke Maloney (2016)
  • Warren Kavanagh (2018)
  • John Henderson (2018)

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories

Hold on a second! Hear us out...

What if we delivered the news to you?

Sign up for our weekly WicklowNews.Net Newsletter below. It only takes 3 seconds.