Wicklow unchanged for visit of Leitrim to Joule Park

John Evans has named an unchanged team for Wicklow’s first home game of the 2019 Allianz Football League against Leitrim on Sunday.

Wicklow go into the game in Aughrim in search of their second consecutive win, having dramatically bested Waterford by 1-07 to 0-09 in Fraher Field last weekend.

Leitrim, meanwhile, visit Joule Park following a comprehensive statement victory over Wexford last time out — winning 3-15 to 0-11 points thanks in part to the magnificent Ryan O’Rourke notching 2-07.

Evans named his Wicklow team on Thursday evening, with Patrick O’Connor — who slotted the Garden’s priceless goal last Saturday — recalled to corner-forward alongside Conor McGraynor and Mark Kenny.

Dean Healy captains the side in midfield with Padraig O’Toole, while Oisin Manning will be tasked with containing O’Rourke at corner-back.

Manning’s fellow Dublin import David Devereux keeps his place in the half-back line, with Shane Mooney impressing enough in his league debut to keep the number six shirt.

Ross O’Brien, Jamie Snell and Darragh Fitzgerald complete the rear-guard in charge of protecting the Dungarvan match-winner Mark Jackson in the Wicklow nets.

Wicklow take on Leitrim in division four of the Allianz National Football League on Sunday, 3rd of February, with throw-in at 2:30pm.

Wicklow XV vs. Leitrim: M. Jackson; O. Manning, R. O’Brien, J. Snell; D. Devereux, S. Mooney, D. Fitzgerald; P. O’Toole, D. Healy (c); D. Hayden, A. McLoughlin, T. Smith; M. Kenny, C. McGraynor, P. O’Connor.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

WicklowNews.Net Competitions

Powered by


Congratulations To ‘Sarah Clarke’ Who Won Our €500 Homesavers Shopping Spree!

Thank you to the 5,000 people who entered our competition. 

New competition launching soon!

Related Stories
© Copyright 2022 WicklowNews.net

Do you have a story for us? Contact us by email