MAP: View the local election candidates running in your area

The government has announced local and European parliament elections will take place on Friday, 24 May.

Polls will open at 7am and run until 10pm as voters elect representatives for Wicklow County Council and choose members of the European Parliament for the Ireland South constituency.

32 council seats are up for grabs as Wicklow residents select local candidates for the first time since 2014.

One change has been introduced in this year’s local electoral areas, with Bray’s 8-seat district split into Bray East and Bray West (Enniskerry, Powerscourt, Kilmacanogue).

A new divorce referendum is also due to take place. It will ask voters whether a four-year living apart window for separated spouses seeking to divorce should be removed from the constitution and replaced by a two-year wait set by the Oireachtas.

The candidates so far

47 people have indicated they will run in the local elections, while at least six current councillors have announced they will not run again.

Wicklow TD Andrew Doyle (Fine Gael) has announced he will be running in the European Parliament elections for the Ireland South constituency.

Trouble viewing? Try this link

Interested in putting your name forward?

A notice of election will be issued not later than 28 days before May 24 which will detail the window for nominations and the times and place where nomination papers can be obtained.

Prospective candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by a local government elector in their area. Candidates must either be affiliated to a registered political party, obtain the signatures of 15 persons registered to vote in the local electoral area, or pay a deposit of €100.

View more details

Spot an error above? Are you running in the local elections? Please contact richard.herlihy2 [at] mail.dcu.ie to suggest changes to the list.

Please contact us for use of this image