Record crowds attend St. Patricks Day Parade in Arklow

Record crowds ensured St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Arklow was a real family day out as groups, organisations and the business community of Arklow and surrounding area put in a huge amount of time and effort into their entries this year.

Mary Nolan Hickey was this year’s Grand Marshal and without doubt a wonderful ambassador for the town as she prepares for another lap of the map on 14th April, this time cycling, with all proceeds going to the RNLI Lifeboats.

Chairman Colm Moules said

“Thanks to the people of Arklow, Stewards, volunteers, Gardaí and emergency services for all their help and support on the day. Despite intermittent showers the St. Patrick’s Day Parade committee, kept the show on the road as the parade left the Navvie Bridge, Arklow at 2pm, with the last float passing by the reviewing stand at 3.15pm approximately.

Groups organisations and dignitaries were well represented on the reviewing stand this year, thanks for taking time out of your busy schedules.  There was great colour and creativity from all participants in this year’s parade with the theme “Reeling back the years” proving a huge hit.

A very big thank you to Jimmy Russell and Peter Kearns, who have been involved for a very long time for their help and support to the committee once again this year, your experience was invaluable. A big thank you to the press and media for all your coverage of this year’s event also.”

Winners of the various cups and trophies are as follows:

Best Float                                                   Chamber of Commerce Cup  – Winner – Smurfit Kappa, Arklow

Best Commercial Display                           Bank of Ireland Shield –  Winner – Arklow Bay Hotel

Best Non-Commercial Display                   Arklow Traders Association Cup – Winner – Arklow Sea Scouts

Best Marching Group                                The AIB Shield – Winner – AGB (Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney)GAA Club)

Best Traditional Group                              The Denis Naughter Perpetual Cup – Winner – Arklow Pipe Band

Most Entertaining Group                          The Paddy Lynch Memorial Award – Winner – Avonmore Musical Society

Best Agricultural/Horticultural Display     Ernest Sharp Memorial Cup – Winner – RSS Ltd

Most Topical                                             Arklow Retail & Business Assoc. Shield. – Winner – Arklow Tidy Towns Volunteers

Best Shop Window Display                      The Hickson Shield. – Winner – Plain & Pearl

Best Vintage Display                                The John Swan Cup – Winner – Murt Mulligan

Youth Award                                            Kitty Fisher Memorial Trophy – Winner – Arklow Girl Guides & Briginis

Best Uniformed Group                              Elavon Perpetual Cup – Winner – Inbhear Mor Marchers

Presentation of prizes will take place on Sunday 24th March, 2019 at 8pm in The Bridge Hotel, Arklow. All are welcome to attend.

Video Cian O’Donnell

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories

Hold on a second! Hear us out...

What if we delivered the news to you?

Sign up for our weekly WicklowNews.Net Newsletter below. It only takes 3 seconds.