Kelly first MEP elected in Ireland South

Fine Gael’s Sean Kelly has been announced as the first MEP to be elected in the Ireland South constituency.

The outgoing MEP was re-elected after he passed the 119,866 quota after the ninth count. The result comes as no surprise as Kelly held a significant lead over his fellow candidates in RTE’s exit poll with 17%.

While Fianna Fáil TD Billy Kelleher is likely to take the second seat, a tense battle for the remaining seats awaits Mick Wallace, Liadh Ni Riada, Grace O’Sullivan, Malcom Byrne and Deirde Clune.

Wicklow Fine Gael TD Andrew Doyle is adrift in eighth position with 38,996 votes after the eighth count.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories