Leinster champions stop off in Arklow to start victory tour

There were wild celebrations in Arklow this evening as the newly crowned Leinster Hurling Champions Wexford transfered from train to coach at Arklow Train station.

The team including backroom staff were on the first carriage with the O’Keeffe cup which they last held 15 years ago.

Lee Chin was last off the train with the cup and manager Davy Fitzgerald, both posed for pictures as they made their way to the waiting Wexford bus.

It was then on to Gorey where thousands were awaiting their champions, Wexford beat Kilkenny 1-23 to 0-23 in a closely fought battle with goalkeeper Mark Fanning’s goal being the difference between the two sides.

It was a hat-trick of wins for Wexford as the Minor hurlers won the Leinster Championship by also beating Kilkenny  3-14 to 3-10, while the Intermediate Ladies beat Meath by 1-11 to 1-08.



If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories