Twenty Wicklow schools receive science and maths awards

Twenty Wicklow primary school have been awarded for their achievements in maths and science.

The goal of these awards is to introduce primary school students to science in a practical, hands-on, enjoyable and interactive way, as The Science Foundation of Ireland Discover Primary Science and Maths Award aims to increase interest in science, technology, engineering and maths among primary school students and teachers.

The following schools were amongst the award winners;

  • Ravenswell Primary School (Badge of Excellence for STEM Awareness)
  • Delgany National School
  • Gaelscoil Chill Mhantáin
  • Gaelscoil na gCloch Liath
  • Greystones Community National School and
  • Greystones Educate Together National School
  • Kilbride National School
  • Kilcoole Primary School
  • Marino School
  • Momeystown National School
  • Nun’s Cross National School
  • Scoil Náisiúnta Muire
  • Sacred Heart National School, Aughrim
  • St. Catherines Special School
  • St. John’s Senior School
  • St. Laurences National School
  • St. Peter’s Primary School
  • Wicklow Educate Together National School
  • Scoil Chaoimhín Naofa
  • All Saints National School

Minister for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development John Halligan congratulated the Wicklow schools for their hard work which involved journaling their scientific explorations and projects and hosting visiting scientists and commended teachers for introducing pupils to science and maths in a fun and educational environment.

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories