Heartbreak for AGB as St. Pat’s win Senior Football Championship

St.Pat’s 0-09 AGB 0-07

St.Pat’s have been crowned county football champions following a closely contested final in Aughrim this afternoon.

The Wicklow town side raced into a three point lead while AGB took time to settle, but as soon as they did the game became an even affair which could have seen the Arklow side ahead but for a number of missed chances.

AGB began to find their rhythm and match the county champions all over the pitch as half-time approached.

St. Pat’s took a two point lead into the break leading 0-05 to 0-03.

Arklow stepped up a gear in the second half and it looked like it might be their day as keeper Mervyn Travers pulled off a point black save from Dean Healy in a game which seen very little goal scoring chances.

Arklow fought their way back to level pegging making it six points each and it looked like an upset was on the cards but the experienced St. Pat’s edged ahead with a one point lead and managed to keep Arklow at bay, a point for St. Pat’s in injury time sealed their victory.

It was heart-breaking for the young AGB side and the fantastic support which added to a great atmosphere in Aughrim.

The trophy was presented to St. Pat’s captain Stephen Duffy by county chairman Martin Fitzgerald, while Conor Ffrench picked up the “Man of the Match” award

Stephen thanked his team and backroom staff and admitted after the game AGB gave them a fright, he also wished the Enniskerry players who were involved in an accident during their club celebrations a speedy recovery.   

Scorers – St Patrick’s: Tommy Kelly 0-4 (3f), Bryan Doyle 0-1, Conor Ffrench 0-1, Stephen Duffy 0-2 (2f), Patrick McWalter 0-1 

AGB: Philip Healy 0-3 (3f), Darragh Fitzgerald 0-1, Cathal Kelleher 0-1, Andy Maher 0-1. Ciaran Hyland 0-1 

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories