Wicklow Motorsport driver named finalist for Young Racing Driver of the Year

British Monoposto 1000 Championship driver Max Hart has been named one of three finalists for the Motorsport Ireland Young Racing Driver of the Year award.

Hart, a leaving cert student from Baltinglass, finished second in the British Monoposto 1000 Championship this year, claiming two race wins and numerous podium finishes in his maiden season racing outside of Ireland.

The Motorsport Ireland Young Racing Driver of the Year award and the historic Sexton Trophy are presented to the individual who has demonstrated the most potential to represent Ireland at home and internationally both on the track as well as in the public eye. The winner will receive a €50,000 support package to help develop their motor racing career.

In addition, all three finalists will be included in the Team Ireland development programme run by Motorsport Ireland to nurture and support young drivers.

Last year’s Motorsport Ireland Young Driver of The Year, Belfast’s Charlie Eastwood, is currently leading the 2019-20 FIA World Endurance Championship in the LMGTE AM class, having recently achieved back-to-back wins in Shanghai and Fuji with his team, TF Sport.

The overall winner of the 2019 award will be announced at the MIS Motorsport Irish Motorsport Awards ceremony, which takes place on Tuesday, 10th December at the City West Hotel, Dublin.  The award is presented annually and is supported by Sport Ireland and Motorsport Ireland.

“I want to congratulate not only the three finalists but also all those nominated throughout the year,” said John Naylor, President of Motorsport Ireland. “All those selected to be interviewed in the process have shown great driving talent, which bodes well for the future of Irish racing.”

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories