Wicklow County Council – COVID-19 (Update) opening hours

Wicklow county council buildings

The following arrangements continue to remain in place for Wicklow County Council Offices and the Municipal District Offices.

Wicklow County Council, County Buildings, Wicklow: Opening hours 9.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. and from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. by appointment only.   Due to improvement works currently being undertaken at County Buildings a section of the main foyer area will be closed to the public to comply with Health and Safety requirements.  The Central Customer Service area will facilitate members of the public presenting by appointment for Motor Tax, Housing, Planning and Environment services .  Members of the public are requested not to present without prior appointment.    Where possible payments can be made electronically or by phone, motor taxation can be also be renewed online or submitted by post.  Planning applications can also be submitted by post

Libraries:   During Level 5 restrictions, Wicklow County Council’s library services can only be availed of online.  However, there are a wide range of services that are still available to the public, for example;  e-books, downloadable audio books, online newspapers, e-magazines and online language learning.   A  PIN can be obtained from library staff by phoning or emailing your local library, or Library HQ.   All details are on www.wicklow.ie/living/services/libraries.

Community Call hours extended:  The County Wicklow Community Call helpline service operating hours have been extended from today  (Friday 23rd October) and will operate from 8am to 8 pm, over the weekend and during the week, Telephone:   1800 868 399 or email covidsupport@wicklowcoco.ie.  Trained staff are available to co-ordinate assistance to elderly and vulnerable persons

 Members of the public can make an appointment via the following numbers/email addresses:

Wicklow County Council, County Buildings, Wicklow.TelephoneEmail
Housing0404 20120Housing2@wicklowcoco.ie
Planning0404 20148Plandev@wicklowcoco.ie
Local Enterprise Office (LEO)0404 30800enterprise@leo.wicklowcoco.ie
Motor Taxation (Motor taxation can be renewed on line and or posted to County Buildings for processing – counter service closes at 3.30 p.m. daily)0404-20100 for appointments0404 20141 for Motor tax queriesmotortax@wicklowcoco.ie
Revenue0404-20100 for appointments0404 20128 for Revenue queriesRevenue@wicklowcoco.ie
Environment0404 20236envadmin@wicklowcoco.ie 
Transportation0404 20181transadmin@wicklowcoco.ie
Customer Service0404 20100customerservice@wicklowcoco.ie

The Municipal District offices at Bray, Greystones, Arklow, Wicklow and Baltinglass/Blessington are open from 9.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. and from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. contact details below:

  • Blessington Motor Tax office:  Open to members of the public on Tuesdays between the hours of 9.30 am to 12.30 p.m. and from 2.00 p.m. to 3.30 p.m.
  • Bray Motor Tax office:  Open to the public on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays between the hours 9.30 am to 12.00 p.m. and from 2.00 p.m. to 3.30 p.m.
  • Housing services, Bray Municipal District:  Members of the public are asked to make contact in advance at braymdhousing@wicklowcoco.ie or by telephoning (01) 2744900 if they wish to make an appointment to meet with a member of the housing staff in the Bray Municipal District Offices.

Members of the public are encouraged not to visit the public offices unnecessarily and when doing so are requested to wear a face covering and adhere to the measures which have been put in place to facilitate physical distancing to ensure the safety of staff and members of the public.  When making an appointment members of the public will be required to complete a brief health and safety questionnaire regarding COVID 19 in order to minimise the risk of the spread of the virus, this information will be retained on file for 30 days to facilitate contact tracing if necessary but will be destroyed thereafter.

Municipal District OfficesContact numbersEmail
Bray Municipal District01 2744900braymd@wicklowcoco.ie 
Arklow Municipal District0402 42700Arklowmunicipaldistrict@wicklowcoco.ie 
Greystones Municipal District01 2876694greystonesmd@wicklowcoco.ie
Baltinglass Municipal District045 891222baltinglassMD@wicklowcoco.ie 
Blessington Office045 891222blessington@wicklowcoco.ie 
Tinahely Office0402 38174tinahely@wicklowcoco.ie 
Wicklow Municipal District0404 20173wicklowmd@wicklowcoco.ie 

Recycling Facilities at Bray, Wicklow, Arklow, Avoca and Rampere remain open this Saturday and on weekdays.  Further details are available on the Council’s Website.

Car Parks:  Carparks at Glendalough, Brittas Bay and Laragh remain open including other carparks throughout the districts.  The carpark at Luggala is closed having regard to the 5km restriction currently in place. 

Re-opening Business: Outdoor tables and chairs  licensing under section 254, to support social distancing for business to re-open is extended to the end of December 2020.

Wicklow County Council would like to thank members of the public in advance for their patience and understanding.  The safety of our employees and members of the public remain our priority.  Measures will be kept under review in accordance with Government announcements.

Further information in relation to all Wicklow County Council Services are available on the Council’s website:  www.wicklow.ie

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories