Historic day for Tinahely ladies

On Sunday afternoon there will be brand new Senior Club Champions in Leinster as first-time finalists Kilmacud Crokes and Tinahely go to battle in Bray Emmets at 1pm. Dublin Champions, Kilmacud Crokes, defeated last year’s champions, Dunboyne, in the quarter final three weeks ago in a devastating display to ensure passage to the semi-finals while Tinahely were single point winners over Milltown.

In the semi-final, Crokes eased past Naomh Ciarán of Offaly while Tinahely ground out a determined win against a talented Eadestown side where the Wicklow champions recovered from a seven point half time deficit to defeat the Kildare side and book their spot in their first ever Leinster SFC Final. 

While Kilmacud Crokes have named the same side as defeated Naomh Ciarán a fortnight ago for the Final, Tinahely have made one change with Jessie Nolan Byrne starting ahead of Eimear O’Sullivan in a shuffled forward line.

Kilmacud Crokes were last in Leinster Championship action back in 2014 when they annexed the Intermediate title, seeing off Sarsfields by 2-10 to 1-08 in the final. Tinahely are no strangers to Leinster Championship action having achieved a remarkable eight in a row Wicklow SFC titles this season. However, this is their first Leinster Senior tie having been beaten in extra time in last year’s Senior semi-final against eventual champions Dunboyne. 

Both sides will want to progress to National stages from this one as the promise of All Ireland Club Finals in Croke Park is an alluring one. However, the focus will be on achieving provincial glory first this Sunday.

The game will be live streamed for those who cannot make Bray Emmets and is available on Leinster’s InPlayer streaming service: https://page.inplayer.com/leinsterlgfa/index.html 

Jerome Quinn is once again on commentary duty and he will be joined by 2010 All Ireland winning captain, Denise Masterson. The action gets underway at 1pm on Sunday.

Kilmacud Crokes: D Gower, P Greene, E Sweeney (C), C Regan, L Kane, M Lamb, A Kane, G Kós, K McDaid, C Sultan, E Rutledge, M Jenning, J Buckley, M Davoren, K Murray.

Tinahely: S Byrne, E Hadden, S Hogan, R Byrne, S Goetelen, A Byrne, N Kenny, A Gorman (C), J Nolan Byrne, E Mulhall, A Maher, E O’Brien, C Byrne, J Kinch, L Hogan.

Ref: Jonathan Murphy (Carlow)

Bray Emmets GAA, Sun November 6th, 1pm

If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories