Wicklow wins big at inaugural Chadwicks Appreciation and Recognition Awards

Chadwicks Group, Ireland’s leading builders’ merchants, is delighted to announce that Wicklow locals Diane McDonald from Chadwicks Bray and Aideen Gilsenan from the Chadwicks Group Property Team were awarded at the first ever Chadwicks Appreciation and Recognition Awards (CARAs).  

The CARAs celebrate and recognise excellence across Chadwicks Group – from best-in-class customer service in-branch to colleagues who are making a positive contribution to their local community.  

Chadwicks Bray branch manager Diane McDonald with Holly Byrne, Aoife Connolly and Kasey Byrne of Aughrim Camogie Club

Diane McDonald, who has worked with Chadwicks for 15 years, was selected as Branch Manager of the Year thanks to her colleague first approach and for being a welcoming, understanding and a focused team leader. Colleagues noted that she continually goes above and beyond for clients while also putting her heart and soul into running the Chadwicks Bray branch.  

Described as the driving force behind her department, Rathdrum local Aideen Gilsenan was named Support Office Colleague of the Year thanks to her excellent work in ensuring that Chadwicks branches are supported across the country. A member of the property team, Aideen assists up to 10-15 branch managers each week and supports the Head of Building Services and the Head of Property while running the facilities department of property. Known for her can-do attitude, it was also noted that she always goes the extra mile for her colleagues. 

In total, 12 winners were announced at a ceremony at the Mansion House in Dublin on Friday, 27th January, with 350 Chadwicks Group colleagues in attendance to celebrate the achievements of branches, departments, and colleagues around the country.   

Commenting at the inaugural CARAs ceremony, Patrick Atkinson, CEO of Chadwicks Group said:   

“We are delighted to launch the first ever CARAs which have been created to celebrate and recognise colleagues across the country for their hard work and commitment. At Chadwicks Group our aim is to always provide our customers with excellence from best-in-class customer service to unrivalled product knowledge, and it’s our people that bring that excellence to life. That’s why these awards are so important and are an opportunity to show our appreciation for the people behind the brand. On behalf of Chadwicks Group, I would like to congratulate Diane and Aideen on their well-deserved award wins.” 

Full list of the CARAs category winners for 2023:  

Category   Winner   
Chadwicks Branch of the Year   Chadwicks Wexford 
Destination Brand Branch of the Year   The Panelling Centre, Furry Park 
Health and Safety Award    Chadwicks Naas 
Leadership Team Award  Ciaran Murphy – Chadwicks Group IT Team  
Branch Manager of the Year     Diane McDonald – Chadwicks Bray   
Branch Colleague of the Year    Omotayo Bello – The Panelling Centre Furry Park  
Yard Colleague of the Year    Eddie McKeown – Chadwicks Robinhood Road  
Sustainability Champion    Ben Condell – Chadwicks Lucan  
Customer Service Champion    Tom Scannell – Cork Builders Providers  
Community Spirit Award (CSR)    Sinead Hinch – Chadwicks Tullamore  
Support Office Department of the Year    HR Team – Chadwicks Group  
Support Office Colleague of the Year   Aideen Gilsenan – Chadwicks Group Property Team  


If you have a story that you think the WicklowNews.Net readers and beyond should know about, we’d love for you to get in touch with us. Submit A Story

Related Stories